Change

July 2012

I’ve noticed lately how often the topic of change comes up…at work with my colleagues, with my husband, and even with my friends.  The old addage seems to fit more and more: The only constant is change.

A teammate and I had a lively conversation about how work these days seems to always be in motion. I never seem to reach a point where everything is stable and predictable, although I work really hard thinking that if I do this or that, then I’ll get there. The result is that I keep pushing and pushing toward something – an illusive calm, stable and secure place. What seems to happen is that I don’t have natural resting points or places to naturally celebrate what I’ve accomplished. And, I get tired.

What is the secret to mastering change? The question used to be how do I move through change?  However, given change is always happening, the opportunity seems to be in moving with it, being a part of it, not trying to get past it, but enjoying being in it.

Try This!

This past weekend I found myself reading a book that I picked up a few years ago by Martha Beck called Finding Your Own North Star.  I was absorbed in it!  I made note of a few of her suggested strategies for moving with change that I thought I’d share (in my own words):

  • Be open to the unexpected
  • Trust that mistakes are great learning opportunities
  • Revisit your goals and dreams often
  • Try something different

I also found myself coming up with mantras that I thought I would try this month.  Maybe there’s one you want to try?

  • Change is good.
  • Work is an adventure.
  • I make a difference.
  • Making mistakes is learning.
  • I’m best when I am rested and energized.

Quotes to Contemplate

  • Just because everything is different doesn’t mean that anything has changed.  ~Irene Peter
  • We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.  ~Anais Nin
  • To keep a lamp burning, we have to keep putting oil in it.  ~Mother Teresa
  • Every wrong step discarded is another step forward.  ~Thomas Edison
  • There is one thing which gives radiance to everything: it is the idea of something around the corner.  ~A.K. Chesterton
  • Life becomes joyful when we can open to the constant flow and ride freely with it. ~Higher Awareness

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Leading With Intention, 2012

Leave a Reply

