Flying

May 2012

A few days ago, I had the extraordinary pleasure of seeing a baby Cardinal learning to fly.  I watched it as it fluttered awkwardly off the ground and then came plopping down again, over and over, each time strengthening it’s muscles and becoming more graceful in its movements.  I envisioned this little bird one day floating freely in the air like its parents, with purpose and a sense of freedom.  And, I wondered, how am I like the bird, or the butterfly?

Try This!

Below are some questions I am exploring as I think about myself moving into the next chapter of my life and soar from a place of passion, feeling I make a difference in the lives of people.

  • What does it mean to fly?
  • How do I know that I am flying?
  • How do I feel when I am flying?
  • What am I doing when I am flying?
  • How do my strengths support my flying?
  • What is comfortable to me about flying? What is uncomfortable about it?
  • What do I like about flying? What do I not like about flying?
  • What is possible when I am flying?

To me flying is a kind of freedom.  It comes when I am following my heart, when I release my soul from the imprisonment of my ego.  I know that I am flying when my work flows, when my world feels calm, when I move with ease and grace.  I make a difference in the world and touch people’s lives when I am flying.  My focus on relationships, my ability to put myself in others situations, my intentional communication, and my focus on the ‘big picture’ support my ability to fly.  Flying is comfortable because it feels good and I am filled with joy; yet, it is scary sometimes with my feet off the ground, trusting my wings to carry me.  I keep stepping off the ground to ascend because flying is my path to feeling fully alive and experiencing the joy that is my essence.

Quotes to Contemplate

  • The desire to reach for the sky runs deep in our human psyche.  ~Cesar Pelli
  • I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things.  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  • He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to stand and walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche
  • The air up there in the clouds is very pure and fine, bracing and delicious.  And why shouldn’t it be? – it is the same the angels breathe.  ~Mark Twain, “Roughing It”
  • The reason angels can fly is because they take themselves lightly.  ~G.K. Chesterton, “Orthodoxy”
  • The butterfly is a flying flower…  ~Ponce Denis Écouchard Lebrun
  • The bluebird carries the sky on his back.  ~Henry David Thoreau
  • Pilots are a rare kind of human.  They leave the ordinary surface of the world, to purify their soul in the sky, and they come down to earth, only after receiving the communion of the infinite.  ~Jose Maria Velasco Ibarra
  • When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.  ~Leonardo Da Vinci
  • I pick the prettiest part of the sky and I melt into the wing and then into the air, till I’m just soul on a sunbeam.  ~Richard Bach
  • The desire to fly is an idea handed down to us by our ancestors who, in their grueling travels across trackless lands in prehistoric times, looked enviously on the birds soaring freely through space, at full speed, above all obstacles, on the infinite highway of the air.  ~Wilbur Wright
  • My soul is in the sky.  ~William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night’s Dream

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Leading With Intention, 2012

One thought on “Flying

  1. Pingback: Leap toward your dreams | Leading With Intention

Leave a Reply

