Sanctuary

August 2012

With the wind of change whirling endlessly, I’ve been thinking a lot about ‘sanctuary’. The dictionary refers to sanctuary in terms of places: 1) a sacred place, such as a church, temple, or mosque, 2) a place of refuge or asylum, or 3) a reserved area in which birds and other animals are protected. I seek places I can go (where it’s quiet or still or beautiful) as well as activities I can participate in (reading, writing, running, yoga…) and people who create a sense of safety and shelter, comfort and protection.

Try This!

I asked some colleagues and friends,What is your sanctuary? I got answers such as a special chair, a church, yoga, hiking, horseback riding, husbands and babies. Thinking about their sanctuary brought up some of the emotions they experience when they are in sanctuary such as comfort, relaxation, strength, gratitude and love. People even mentioned how there were smells and physical sensations associated with their sanctuary. Maybe you can create a taste of your sanctuary right now, just by considering these questions and imagining your sanctuary?

  • Where do I find sanctuary?
  • What do I do to nurture myself?
  • Who do I turn to for comfort and love?
  • What do I experience when I’m in my sanctuary?
  • When do I most need refuge?
  • How can I give myself a little sanctuary today?

Quotes to Contemplate

  • Sanctuary, on a personal level, is where we perform the job of taking care of our soul. ~Christopher Forrest McDowell
  • There is no sanctuary of virtue like home. ~Edward Everett
  • It is in the shelter of each other that the people live.  ~Irish Proverb
  • At the end of the day, the goals are simple: safety and security. ~Jodi Rell
  • Although we love the idea of choice, we seek refuge in the familiar and the comfortable. ~Hugh Mackay
  • How can one take delight in the world unless one flees to it for refuge? ~Franz Kafka
  • Comfort zones are most often expanded through discomfort. ~Peter McWilliams

© copyright Vicki L. Flaherty, Leading With Intention, 2012

2 thoughts on “Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

