The Invisible Touch

004

“Act as if what you do makes a difference.  It does.”

~William James

This past week I received an email from someone who attended a session I led on being social in a digital world. She was thanking me for something I said which inspired her to write a blog that she was sharing with me. While I certainly had hoped back in March to influence the group by sharing with them, I didn’t fully realize how something I would say might truly inspire someone to action.

As I reflected on what happened, I sensed this ‘invisible touch’. I saw how the way that I showed up, the words I chose, the intentions I set came together to reach someone in a way that I didn’t predict.

Six email for Jun17

Read Six’s thought-provoking and inspiring blog: Human evolution – For our next chapter let’s reinvent our humanity.

Six writes about the power of creativity, adaptability, and empathy as sources of change and evolution, and she invites us to embrace those aspects of our humanity that make us unique. Part of what makes us special as humans is our ability to engage with each other, to form relationships, to co-create together. How we show up and seize the opportunity of our interactions is truly a special power that we all possess.

I’m reminded that every interaction is an opportunity and that being present as we engage with others provides the nutrients for building strong relationships. It’s not just the words we use or the visible actions we take, there is an unseen energy in the intentions, attitudes and beliefs we hold and in how we carry ourselves. Sometimes a kind of ‘magic’ happens when two people come together, open up to possibility, and trust each other and the space they share. This magic can take us to places and outcomes grander than we could ever have imagined.

“A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives.”

 ~Jackie Robinson

 Can you recall a ‘magic’ moment where something invisible happened when you were with someone? Have you ever been made aware of how something you said or did shaped the actions of someone else? How you see your power to influence and shape the world – for yourself, and for others?

Here’s to truly being present for the magic of the moment and fully experiencing what’s possible when two people come together. May you grace others with the invisible touch. May you receive the invisible touch.

* Image: I took this photo at Newhall Refinery on my recent visit to California. I saw something magical about the 3 vases sitting together on the table. Together they created something that inspired me – they touched me.

5 thoughts on “The Invisible Touch

  1. I’m reminded of the best parenting advice I’ve gotten: When you see your kids, let them see your eyes light up, let them see the joy you feel, and ask about homework, and chores and whatever else. But let that first moment be of unconditional love. There is an invisible connection and it needs intention to blossom.

  2. I’m thrilled you’re receiving the positive “full circle” outcome of your great work, Vicki. I’ve known forever the kind of impact you have on individuals and teams. So exciting.

    • Maureen, you have been a light and inspiration on this journey called life. So many times you have helped me awaken to my strengths and see the difference I make with my choices and actions. Thank you for your friendship and leadership.

Leave a Reply

